Reactos can access google !!!!

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Postby uniQ » Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:12 pm

What does Ffx do on ROS these days?

-uniQ
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.
uniQ
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Postby Phalanx » Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:10 pm

Gekko/Mozilla :))))) Nice work, that is a real browser that is working!
Phalanx
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia

Gecko

Postby avryhof » Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:53 am

Now that is truly Superb. I ike the idea of Integrating the Mozilla Control into ReactOS. Especially since it's exports, methods and such are compatible with the IE ones.

Just don't try to make it into the whole GUI. Keep Mozilla where it belongs, on the Internet, and keep Explorer where it belongs away from the Internet

....well....unless you want to make it so we can map FTP and Gmail as drives..that would be sweet
avryhof
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:56 am
Location: Brewerton, NY

Postby Phalanx » Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:33 pm

Could you add the Mozilla ActiveX control to ReactOS with a wrapping dummy IE ActiveX control. That way programs reliant on the IE one will now work.
Phalanx
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia

Postby avryhof » Tue Jan 04, 2005 8:31 am

Phalanx wrote:Could you add the Mozilla ActiveX control to ReactOS with a wrapping dummy IE ActiveX control. That way programs reliant on the IE one will now work.


The only issue I can see with this is the fact that alot of applications that require IE also use IE Specific ActiveX controls within their products.

For example, Trend Antivirus Enterprise edition has an autorun program that needs IE, and installs what looks like a plethora of custom ActiveX controls to present you with the 5 options they actually offer in it seems as many ways as possible.

However, I can see what you are getting at. Imagine using Outlook Express and the Mozillacontrol loading in the View Pane (or in OE Pain) to show you your E-Mail. ... Or one of these ugly hacks that people release to add tabbed browsing or whatever to IE.

I would imagine that as long as the MozillaControl is registered AS the IE Control some Apps will work....for the rest, there is the converter on the MozillaControl official Web site.
avryhof
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:56 am
Location: Brewerton, NY

Postby Phalanx » Tue Jan 04, 2005 2:44 pm

Well, there are 2 projects for Gekko that allows ActiveX controls to run in Gekko like IE, then add that to the Mozilla ActiveX control and add that to ReactOS. Then all you have to do is add a fake IE control that links the calls to the Mozilla one, and if the IE one has a high version number, there would be no problems of it being over written. The Mozilla ActiveX control accepts the same calls as the IE one.
Phalanx
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia

Mozilla ActiveX Control

Postby Jaix » Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:40 am

Dr. Fred wrote:Here is the mailing list posting

1. Add urlmon and shdocvw to the build
2. wget the mozilla control from there

"Url"="http://crossover.codeweavers.com/redirect/mozcontrol"

3. Install the control (It may fail a few times)
4. Copy msvcr70.dll to reactos\system32
5. start cmd.exe and cd to C:\program files\Mozilla ActiveX Control .....
6. type explorer
7. hit the webbutton

I have tried this in sooooo many versions since then, but I havn't succeded in getting the Mozilla ActiveX Control to work or even install correctly, what do I do wrong? Does someone have a magic wand to my aid?
Jaix
Moderator Team
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Mozilla ActiveX Control errormessage

Postby Jaix » Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:14 pm

Mozilla ActiveX Control errormessage
Perhaps it would be good to add an errormessage or two...
...these errormessages comes up during install when the service is trying to register something in the far end of the installation.
Nightly Build: 14530
Image
Image
Jaix
Moderator Team
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Re: Reactos can access google !!!!

Postby theuserbl » Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:47 pm

bratao wrote:This screenshot send by a friend, look that this space is from Filip Navara, thanks a lot man !!!!keep the good work !!1

Image


Hmmm... the other screenshots at http://www.volny.cz/xnavara/ are looking also nice.

For example the OpenOffice.org Install-Screenshot:
Image

Or the running OOo:
Image

And he have a ROS on dillo, too:
Image

Or Powerpoint:
Image


I like screenshots. And on his side are some of them
theuserbl
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:49 pm

Awesome!!!

Postby Duck » Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:11 pm

Now people will start looking at ROS.

Why dont you guys spread the work (screenshots) to OSnews? They seem to be on top of every new on the os/oss area. And there are a lot of skilled people in their audience!!

Doesnt ROS have someone taking care of the "marketing"???

Keep up the exelent work!!! :D
Duck
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:44 am

Re: Mozilla ActiveX Control

Postby sebastiaan » Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:37 pm

Jaix wrote:I have tried this in sooooo many versions since then, but I havn't succeded in getting the Mozilla ActiveX Control to work or even install correctly, what do I do wrong? Does someone have a magic wand to my aid?

I tried installing the Mozilla control this afternoon. It seems you have to manualy register the control before ibrowser.exe can use it.

Register the control by using cmd.exe to cd to the "Mozilla ActiveX..." directory, and type "regsvr32.exe mozctl.dll".
sebastiaan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 3:45 pm
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

Re: Mozilla ActiveX Control

Postby Jaix » Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:40 pm

Sebastiaan wrote:I tried installing the Mozilla control this afternoon. It seems you have to manualy register the control before ibrowser.exe can use it.

Register the control by using cmd.exe to cd to the "Mozilla ActiveX..." directory, and type "regsvr32.exe mozctl.dll".


So this is supposed to be like this?

1. Add urlmon and shdocvw to the build
2. wget the mozilla control from there

"Url"="http://crossover.codeweavers.com/redirect/mozcontrol"

3. Install the control (It may fail a few times)
4. Copy msvcr70.dll to reactos\system32
5. start cmd.exe and cd to C:\program files\Mozilla ActiveX Control .....
6. type regsvr32 mozctl.dll
7. type explorer (or ibrowser)
8. hit the webbutton
Jaix
Moderator Team
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Postby Gedi » Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:17 pm

we are currently considering a few ideas for having the mozilla control either auto-install when you open ibrowser for the first time, or running a seperate program, maybe via the package manager.

You'll still need to set up your own IP details and ensure you have network connectivity first.
Gedi
 

Mozilla ActiveX and status of the DHCP-client...

Postby Jaix » Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:27 pm

Gedi wrote:we are currently considering a few ideas for having the mozilla control either auto-install when you open ibrowser for the first time, or running a seperate program, maybe via the package manager.

You'll still need to set up your own IP details and ensure you have network connectivity first.


I think this is a really good idea, it should be really easy so more people could start testing.

Talking about setting IP, what is the status of the DHCP-client?
Jaix
Moderator Team
 
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Re: Reactos can access google !!!!

Postby Haos » Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:49 am

Bump for great justice!
Haos
Test Team
 
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Frontier and 3 guests